Are you a good friend?

Sometimes I wonder when I’m scrolling through social media and come across stories about how badly people mistreat each other, what has happened to common decency.  According to tipsonlifeandlove.com, the 7 criteria for being a good friend are as follows:

  • Taking a genuine interest in others
  • Being a giver, not a taker
  • Being loyal
  • Being a positive person
  • Appreciating the difference in others
  • Building on common interests
  • Being open, honest, and real

While the listed criteria above are adequate, this criteria does need revision.  I believe that a staple marker in friendship development is integrity.  I believe that a working definition of integrity is the building block of any friendship or relationship where an investment is being made to solidify that the relationship/friendship is long-lasting.  While being positive is certainly important, it is an attribute that needs some clarification.  Not all circumstances involved in a friendship or relationship are positive ones; therefore, it takes trust, courage, and honesty to look a friend in the eye and confront him or her with the truth- not all truths are happy ones.  I would rather have my friend confront me about something that is troublesome and be truthful about the situation than treat every circumstance as a positive one.  In order for that to happen,  I would have to know that my friend has a base line of integrity.  Will you have many friends when you adhere to these criteria? Maybe, maybe not? That’s up to you to decide…..

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started